Maricopa Emergency Management System Alert

COVID-19 Update: The EMCC campus is open for classes, appointments, and walk-in services. Masks are required for everyone inside ALL buildings at EMCC.  All student support services are still available online. Students are encouraged to contact their instructors for additional information.

ESL Credit Courses

ESL credit courses at EMCC are broken down into 4 levels. Levels are based on test scores from the CELSA.* Each level is comprised of 4 skill areas: Grammar, Listening & Speaking, Writing with Oral Practice, and Reading. It is generally recommended a student complete all classes in a level before progressing to the next level. 

For details on course competencies, click on the class.

*Students wishing to enroll in credit ESL classes are required to take the CELSA. Scores expire after two years.

Level 1 (CELSA Score 16-29)


Level 2 (CELSA Score 30-38)


Level 3 (CELSA Score 39-50)


Level 4 (CELSA Score 51-66)

View current offering of ESL Credit classes