Maricopa Emergency Management System Alert

Important Coronavirus (COVID-19) Information - CAMPUS CLOSED: Summer 2020 in-person and hybrid courses have been moved online. Online/distance classes are continuing as scheduled. Students should log in to Canvas to access their courses. Students are encouraged to contact their instructors for additional information.  Maricopa Coronavirus Website  |  Sign up for Rave Alerts  |  Need EMCC Help Now?  |  Log in to Canvas

Physical Science

The Physical Science Department welcomes you to another exciting year at Estrella Mountain Community College!

Below we have listed the disciplines that fall under the Physical Science Department and include contact information for our faculty. For general questions, please call 623-935-8491.


Chemistry 

Chemistry is the physical science concerned with the composition, structure, and properties of matter, and with the changes matter undergoes during chemical reactions. Chemistry students consider the behavior of atoms, molecules, crystals and other aggregates of matter – in isolation or combination – and use the concepts of energy and entropy to understand the spontaneity of chemical processes.

Allen Reyes
(623) 935 - 8422
allen.reyes@estrellamountain.edu

Russell Shaffer
(623) 935 - 8997
russell.shaffer@estrellamountain.edu

Levi Torrison
(623) 935 - 8703
levi.torrison@estrellamountain.edu

Denise Garland
(623) 935 - 8704
denise.garland@estrellamountain.edu

Fiona Lihs
(623) 935 - 8702
fiona.lihs@estrellamountain.edu


Engineering

Engineering is the discipline and profession that applies technical, scientific and mathematical knowledge using natural laws and physical resources to design and create materials, structures, machines, devices, systems, and processes that safely realize a desired objective.

Maria Petra
(623) 935 - 8781
maria.petra@estrellamountain.edu


Geology

Geology courses are taught in-person utilizing advanced instructional technologies and immense collections of minerals, rocks, fossils and a wide variety of demonstration materials. Although instructors may pursue other geologic research, our first priority is the education of our students. We are routinely available outside of class time. We also take advantage of Arizona's spectacular geologic setting to provide the opportunity for real-time field observation of many geological features.

Zachary Kovach
(623) 935 - 8380
zachary.kovach@estrellamountain.edu


Physics

Physics deals with the structure of matter and the interactions between the fundamental constituents of the observable universe. Physics is concerned with all aspects of nature, covering the behavior of objects under the action of given forces and the nature and origin of gravitational, electromagnetic, and nuclear forces.

Dwain Desbien
(623) 935 - 8474
dwain.desbien@estrellamountain.edu

Jeffrey Hengesbach
(623) 935 - 8712
jeffrey.hengesbach@estrellamountain.edu

Angela McClure
(623) 935 - 8600
angela.mcclure@estrellamountain.edu


Astronomy

Professional astronomers follow the stars, literally! This exciting, yet competitive, field attracts hard-working students who enjoy observation and problem solving, and are willing to conduct detailed research for the possibility of scientific discovery.