President's Community Advisory Council

President's Community Advisory Council

The purpose of the President's Community Advisory Council is to provide an active forum for community members to become personally involved and connected with the college. Through bi-annual meetings, college leadership works with West Valley community members to gain insight and counsel regarding trends, educational opportunities, strategic directions and collaborative program efforts. In addition, through the publication of an annual report, the College communicates to members the experiences of our students, our institutional directions and priorities, and progress on our journey towards becoming a comprehensive Learning College.


Mr. Stan Arterberry | Arterberry Blue and Associates, LLC

Mr. Lee Baker | Section Leader, Nuclear Training, Palo Verde NGS | Arizona Public Service

Ms. Collene Bay-Anderson | Dean, Specialized Programs | University of Phoenix

Dr. Janet Beason | Community Member | Retired Administrator, Avondale School District

Mr. Randy Camacho | Educator/Consultant | Tolleson Union High School

Mr. Joel Canchola | GCON Inc.

Ms. Bernadette Carroll | Executive Director | West Valley Fine Arts Council

Ms. Monica Chavez | Sonora Quest Laboratories

Ms. Cheryl Covert | Economic Development Project Manager | City of Avondale

Ms. Sheri Dahlstrom | Chief Nursing Officer | Banner Estrella Medical Center

Mr. Greg Donovan | Superintendent | Western Maricopa Education Center (West-MEC)

Ms. Lori Gary | Economic Development Director | City of Goodyear

Mr. Eric Godfrey | Superintendent | Buckeye Union High School District

Dr. Jodi Gunning | Superintendent | Litchfield Elementary School District

Ms. Nora Gutierrez | Superintendent | Tolleson Union High School District

Ms. Patty Hannon | Community Member

Dr. Betsy Hargrove | Superintendent | Avondale Elementary School District

Mr. George Henderson | Lifetyme Financial Group, LLC

Mr. Clint Hickman | Hickman Family Farms

Ms. Maxine Hill | Community Member | Governing Board Member, Agua Fria Union High School District

Ms. Sintra Hoffman | President & CEO | WESTMARC

Ms. Sharolyn Hohman | City of Goodyear

Dr. Cheryl Hyman | Vice Provost of Academic Partnerships | Arizona State University (ASU)

Mr. Spencer Isom | Director of Business Development & Government Affairs  | Western Maricopa Education Center (West-MEC)

Mr. Ron Jones | Subzero Inc.

Ms. Lisa Lantz | Cancer Treatment Centers of America

The Honorable Georgia Lord | Mayor | City of Goodyear

Mr. John Mazza | Assistant City Manager | City of Litchfield Park

Ms. Diane McCarthy | Business Development and Legislative Affairs | Western Maricopa Education Center (West-MEC)

The Honorable Jackie Meck | Mayor | City of Buckeye

Ms. Joyce Medina Harper | Executive Director | Dougherty Foundation

Mr. Reyes Medrano | City Manager | City of Tolleson

Ms. Gina Montes | Assistant City Manager | City of Avondale

Fr. John Muir | Pastor | St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic Church

Mr. David Roderique | Economic Development Director | City of Buckeye

Dr. Dennis Runyan | Superintendent | Agua Fria Union High School District

Mr. John Safin | President | Southwest Valley Chamber of Commerce

The Honorable Thomas Schoaf | Mayor | City of Litchfield Park

Ms. Pilar Sinawi | Intergovernmental and Public Affairs Manager | City of Tolleson

Mr. Doug Small | Director of Strategic Partnerships | Northern Arizona University (NAU)

Mr. Paul Smiley | President | Sonoran Technology

Ms. Barbara Snyder | Phoenix Campus Director | University of Phoenix

Mr. Steve Strickbine | Publisher | West Valley View

Ms. Sheryl Susunkewa | Community Member

The Honorable Anna Tovar | Mayor | City of Tolleson

Ms. Lisa Verschueren | Valleywise Health - Community Health Center - Avondale

The Honorable Kenn Weise | Mayor | City of Avondale

Ms. Candace Wiest | West Valley National Bank

Ms. Kathy Yeager | Associate Vice President, Office of Educational Partnerships | Northern Arizona University (NAU)

Ms. Sandra Chavez |  Administrative Coordinator Specialist

Ms. Sharon Lind | Administrative Coordinator Specialist